Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Praktica ltl, can't see through viewf... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2007 » Praktica ltl, can't see through viewfinder « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Sorlando
Tinkerer
Username: Sorlando

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, September 21, 2007 - 10:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

i'm new to cameras & found a praktica ltl in my house. i'm just experimenting with it & after putting the speed setting on B & pressing the shutter button, the viewfinder went completely blank and i can't see through it now. it was like this when i found it & i can't remember what i did to make it work, apart from taking the lens off & having a look inside.

any help? thanks.

p.s. also, does taking the lens off affect the film?

L_n_h
Tinkerer
Username: L_n_h

Post Number: 10

Posted on Friday, September 21, 2007 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

You may be having the problem I sometimes get with Praktica MTLs. The shutter can stick if the camera gets a bump in certain positions (eg if its upside down). The solution is often to click the shutter as if you are taking a picture. If yours is like mine, typically it will fire and when you wind on, it will be back to normal. As youve already clicked, try winding on.
However do note that the B setting means the shutter is suposed to stay open as long as you keep your finger on the fire button. So if I were you I would change the speed control dial back to something else first, say 125 (ie 125th of a second).

L_n_h
Tinkerer