Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Tokura 80-200mm macro zoom Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2007 » Tokura 80-200mm macro zoom « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Adrian
Tinkerer
Username: Adrian

Post Number: 61

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, June 18, 2007 - 07:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm a bit of a novice with anything made since I was born... I've just got one of the above lenses, Olympus OM-system mount, and I'm yet to try it out in any serious way. Google is less than helpful - they're all either ebay sales or in French - and I was wondering whether anyone here can offer me any advice. All I have used it for is four snaps of flowers finishing a roll of film. None are pin-sharp, though as I was taking pics of tiny orchids at a distance of five feet I am not hugely surprised, especially without a tripod! Between wobble and not-quite-got-the-focus-100%-right I doubt that such things are a fair test of the lens.

Has anyone any better suggestions as to what I should be using it for - other than a doorstop, which it would be superb at, it weighs a ton!

Adrian

M_currie
Tinkerer
Username: M_currie

Post Number: 61

Posted on Tuesday, June 19, 2007 - 03:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

You'll never really give it a good test without a tripod, because that focal length, especially if it's heavy, is hard to hand hold.

But Tokura doesn't seem to be a very prominent manufacturer or vendor, so I also wouldn't be too surprised to find that the lens is a less than stellar performer.