Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Yashica 35 RF lens stiff Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2008 » Yashica 35 RF lens stiff « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Steve_roberts
Tinkerer
Username: Steve_roberts

Post Number: 7

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, January 31, 2008 - 09:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

My Yashica 35 is in amazing condition except for the fact that the lens focussing is very stiff - probably nothing more than the drying out of the lubricant. I should explain that this isn't one of the multitude of 35 Electros, GSNs etc., with metering and what-have-you, but the 1958/59 model with the f1.8 lens. I've no experience of repairing RF cameras (except the Kodak Retina IIa) and wonder if cleaning and re-lubricating the lens thread is feasible or whether it's something likely to be full of pitfalls. Any advice gratefully received!
Thanks,
Steve

Reiner
Tinkerer
Username: Reiner

Post Number: 55

Posted on Friday, February 01, 2008 - 11:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Steve,

I am moderatelly skilled in repairing old RFs and I had the same came camera with the same problem and in same condition. In this case I decided to sell this camera as defective shelf item.

For re-lubrication of the thread it would be necessary to dismantle the lens barrel and to take the whole lens plate off the camera body. Therefore the leatherette has to be peeled back. It was stiff and brittle. Doing that on my Yashica 35 would have ruined the excellent original condition.

Dmorg
Tinkerer
Username: Dmorg

Post Number: 4