Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

My very first experience in camera re... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2008 » My very first experience in camera repair « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Riz
Tinkerer
Username: Riz

Post Number: 9

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, May 19, 2008 - 12:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello,

This is my very first attempt of learning camera repair. I started with Adox Polomatic 3S its 1961, German made compact viewfinder shutter priority automatic exposure. For more information on camera you can refer: http://logic44.co.uk/mark/Compact%20Camera%20Collection/Adox_Polomatic_3s.htm

Here are some points that I want to share:

* The camera has following problems/issues: - Viewfinder/automatic exposure mechanism is not working - Problem in shutter speed and aperture setting - Gears, screws, snap rings and other metallic parts are dirty and bit rusty - Inner bottom plate has some rust - Couple of parts is worn out. One plastic part is broken.

* My primary intent is to (a) de-assemble the camera, shutter and lens, (b) clean the parts and perform necessary servicing, and (c) re-assemble the camera/shutter/lens..

* My secondary intent is to try to repair the camera. It�s my very first try so I am not sure about it.

* Still if I am able to re-assemble the camera exactly as before I would think as a big success for me as a first step.

* Today (May 19, 2008), I completely de-assembled the camera body to the maximum possible level and detail.

* Every part is out and catalogued except two small screws and one wire that I forgot to log.