Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Canon A-1 Viewfinder Info Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2008 » Canon A-1 Viewfinder Info « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Liquidslow
Tinkerer
Username: Liquidslow

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, June 11, 2008 - 01:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello. I'm totally new to the forum, I hope no one gets offended if I ask some dumb question.

So here's probably some :-).

I've just got a Canon A-1 body. I have no FD lens, since I bought it separate and it didn't arrive yet. I'm new to Canon FD.

I made some tests with no lens mounted. I don't know whether the camera will operate correctly with no lens.

The viewfinder info LEDs are suppose to light even with no lens mounted? Because it's not.

Shutter is working so-so. Shutter is cocked but sometimes it doesn't release. When it does, sometimes the mirror doesn't return. Magnets? I opened the bottom plate and the magnet to the right-hand is not releasing. I have to reset the camera to L or press the battery test button to return the mirror up.

Shutter speeds are odd, I think the AT dial is not setting any speed, apparently, not even bulb mode. It's the same for Tv or Av. The battery I'm using is not new, could it be that? Or is it all because of the no-lens situation?

The self-timer doesn't seem to be working, and strangely sometimes when I press the shutter when it's at A position, the 10 sec self-timer starts all by himself, apparently at random.

I'm really lost here, would anyone shine some light, please? :-)

I'd really like to put the A-1 to work by repairing myself.

Thanks in advance!

Scanogram