Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

How to take off shutter knob on Prakt... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2008 » How to take off shutter knob on Praktica MLT3 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Esphotos
Tinkerer
Username: Esphotos

Post Number: 6

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, November 30, 2008 - 04:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello all,
I must admit that I am a total noob on camera repairs.

I have this Praktica MLT3 that needs its viewfinder cleaned. But I cannot open the top cover because I can't take off the shutter knob.
Can some one help me?

Cheers
Edward

Praktica

Lucas
Tinkerer
Username: Lucas

Post Number: 82

Posted on Sunday, November 30, 2008 - 08:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Is it the prism that is milky ? If it is do not bother, just get another one as the silver has degraded. The shutterspeed dial cover is glued on. If you pry it off with a needle it will get damaged. I got it off by giving it a quick blast with the flame of a micro torch, the glue softens and you can easily lift it off.If you do damage it let me know I am fairly certain I have a spare floating around somewhere

Steve_s
Tinkerer
Username: Steve_s

Post Number: 139

Posted on Sunday, November 30, 2008 - 09:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)