Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikon S shutter repair Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Nikon S shutter repair « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Proteus617
Tinkerer
Username: Proteus617

Post Number: 5

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, March 28, 2010 - 08:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm brand new at curtain repair so please take pity. I've replaced the lead curtain on my Nikon S. The shutter now totally caps at 1/500 and does not complete it's travel at 1/20. Do I now increase tension on the lead curtain until the capping disappears at the fastest speed and completes it's travel or do I now back of the second curtain a bit before I proceed? Also, what is the function of the gear shaped collar around the speed adjustment screw? Is it just a locking collar or does it adjust the position of the roller to it's internal spring?

Regards,
Matthew

Rick_oleson
Tinkerer
Username: Rick_oleson

Post Number: 1077

Posted on Sunday, March 28, 2010 - 04:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Is the location of the new curtain on the drum (with the #1 curtain, it's the ribbons on the feed drum that establish its position) perfectly correct? If not, there is no amount of adjustment that will make it run right.