Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Minolta X-7A eyepiece, shutter problem Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Minolta X-7A eyepiece, shutter problem « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ana_shekhar
Tinkerer
Username: Ana_shekhar

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 08:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I unearthed a Minolta X-7A from my parents' closet and I hope it isn't beyond help. It seems to be in good condition except that the shutter/advance film mechanism is stuck. It only swivels about half of the way forward. I also can't see out of the eyepiece for some reason. I am a complete camera novice and therefore am not up to the task of undertaking the repairs myself, but when I take the camera to the shop I'd at least like to tell them where to start!

Msiegel
Tinkerer
Username: Msiegel

Post Number: 189

Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 03:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

First thing with an old camera would be replacing the batteries and checking if there is still film loaded. To check if there is film in the camera without opening it is trying to turn the rewind crank (top left seen from behind) in the direction indicated by an arrow on it. If it blocks there is film loaded. If it is so rewind it by pressing the little button on the bottom of the camera and rewinding the film with the crank.
Not being able to look through the finder means that either the mirror is locked up or the lens cap is still on.