Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Minolta XG-1 Film advance broken? Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Minolta XG-1 Film advance broken? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Blua
Tinkerer
Username: Blua

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, September 10, 2010 - 04:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Okay so I'm new to this thread but I have a question about my Minolta XG-1.
Today I decided to take some photos and the film advance was working completely fine. However then when I went to take the 4th photo I noticed that the advancer felt really lose. Like It didn't feel like it was gripping anything. Then I obviously couldn't take a photo.
Is this problem fixable? I was thinking about taking to this repair shop in my town. Would it be expensive to get fixed?

Mikeb
Tinkerer
Username: Mikeb

Post Number: 8

Posted on Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 02:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

This sounds like it could be the same problem I have seen posted by others. The diagnosis was that the winder wasn't reaching the end of its stroke. Even though it felt like it couldn't be wound more, they found that a little extra push (I hesitate to use the word "force" but that's what it was) on the winding lever was what was needed. You might give it a try, just be reasonable with the amount of extra force you apply.