Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Hmmm..... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Hmmm..... « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Magkelly
Tinkerer
Username: Magkelly

Post Number: 14

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 04:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Mission accomplished? Well, maybe at least partly. I just attempted my first light seal replacement job on the Yashica FRI. When it's dry I'll take some pics and let the experts here tell me if I botched it or not. I don't think so, looks good, but being as I've never done one before I could use a spot check if you guys wouldn't mind? I'll go shoot a roll after that and see too. Didn't go after the counter. I'm not quite there yet. I want to read that book first and I can live without that for a while.

Question, and here's the rub because maybe I just did all that work for nothing, when I was putting the two little pieces of foam in the shutter area I noticed that the top mirror which I believe is actually the viewing screen bottom has a scratched area on one side.

Now, it doesn't really show up except under very bright light. I didn't even notice it till I shined one right up in there. I don't notice it when I am looking through the viewer in normal light at all can't see it unless I really look with a bright light, but under that light it is reflected just a bit in the shutter mirror below.

Anyone know how much it will affect any pics I take? Does this mean the camera is useless unless it gets a new one? If something from the viewer is reflected on the mirror just a tiny bit does that mean it's going to be on the negatives too?