Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikon SB-22 problems on Minolta X-570 Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Nikon SB-22 problems on Minolta X-570 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Trevisano
Tinkerer
Username: Trevisano

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, September 21, 2010 - 04:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello all, I'm new to the film camera game and was hoping to get some help with what seems like a fairly simple issue.
Picked up an X-570 a while back, and just got a SB-22 flash used as well. No problems with the SLR body at all, but when I throw on the flash and press the shutter, the flash fires and the shutter remains open until I turn the flash off. This happens on both manual-focus and auto-focus modes. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Finnegan
Tinkerer
Username: Finnegan

Post Number: 56

Posted on Tuesday, September 21, 2010 - 05:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Probably using a flash dedicated to Nikon electronics with a Minolta camera that accepts only flashes dedicated to Minolta electronics.

Trevisano
Tinkerer
Username: Trevisano

Post Number: 2

Posted on Tuesday, September 21, 2010 - 08:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Fair enough. Shame they aren't interchangeable. I assumed it would be possible but I'll have to look into getting a Minolta flash from the same era.