Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Rolleicord V timing mechanism Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Rolleicord V timing mechanism « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ctphoto
Tinkerer
Username: Ctphoto

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, October 10, 2010 - 01:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi there,

I am relatively new to vintage cameras but have got my hands on a rolleicord Va in pretty good condition. It is a marked improvement on my old zeiss ikon cocarette!

My problem is with the slower shutter speeds. Anything slower than 1/8 second uses what sounds like a spring loaded timer which doesn't run too smoothly. The same noise is heard with the self timer. When deployed, rather than a smooth whirring noise, it is slow, intermittent and eventually grinds to a halt before completing the 10 second delay. Likewise, I have timed the 1 second exposure and found that the shutter is open for about 2 seconds.

I think this is more of an issue with the timer than the shutter leaves themselves as all is well at higher speeds. Is there any way to gain access to the timer and give it a bit of a clean? Using the timer again and again doesn't seem to be freeing it up any. Failing that, is this something a CLA would fix?

Many thanks,

Chris

Dirbel
Tinkerer
Username: Dirbel

Post Number: 39

Posted on Sunday, October 10, 2010 - 02:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

To get access to the timer, you have to remove the lens cover.