Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Advance lever on xg-7 Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Advance lever on xg-7 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Grmpiolmn
Tinkerer
Username: Grmpiolmn

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, October 23, 2010 - 08:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

the film advance lever on my xg-7 just moves back and forth, doesn't catch on aything. I am very new at repairing and restoring cameras. short of having it repaired can this be repaired by a novice and what is the difficulty. thanks

Msiegel
Tinkerer
Username: Msiegel

Post Number: 203

Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 02:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Is there film loaded in the camera? If yes it might have reached the end of the film without advancing a full frame or the film is stuck. In this case rewind the film and put it out of the camera. Now try if you can advance the wind lever fully to finish it's cycle. If no film is loaded try the same. Move the winding lever as if winding on until you feel resistance and try gently to wind on a little bit more. I really mean gently so not to break anything.