Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

To lube or not to lube... THAT is the... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » To lube or not to lube... THAT is the question! « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Docrock17
Tinkerer
Username: Docrock17

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, December 24, 2010 - 11:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello,
I am extremely new to the camera repair world, so I've been trying to look on this forum and countless other sites for some basic info and advice to maybe answer my question, but I couldn't really come up with a conclusion that satisfied me.

I just recently brought a Yashica Mat 124 back to life by flushing the shutter and shutter mechanisms (gears/springs) with lighter fluid (Ronsonol) three or four times and working the mechanism like crazy, then blowing it dry with a can of dust removal air. Now it works like a charm and I'm super happy, but since I flushed it out with Ronsonol, I was wondering whether I needed to replace the lube I destroyed. I've seen some "no lubrication is fine and/or preferable" posts here and there but others that insist small amounts are necessary. I'm just wondering who is right? Does it depend on my camera? It seems like it's doing A-OK without anything in there but I wanted to make sure I'm not committing a CLA crime by not re-lubing it before reassembly.

Thanks!

(Also, if anyone has any recommendations on how best to glue the leatherette back on, I realize it's an unrelated question but I would appreciate any advice. My knee-jerk is crazy glue, but I am worried about wanting to remove it in the future)

Greyscale
Tinkerer