Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Minolta SRT-101 and 2 lenses-broken f... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Minolta SRT-101 and 2 lenses-broken f stops? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Raine
Tinkerer
Username: Raine

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, January 21, 2011 - 04:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello, I am very new here!
I have a Minolta SRT-101 that I purchased from Value Village a few years ago. I've been using it for three years without error, almost all pictures come out properly exposed. I've never had any problems with it.
I'm now taking an official darkroom class, and my prof told me that my f stops aren't working. I have two different lenses and she told me they aren't working on either of them. I can't see it click through different apertures when I switch them, but I'm not sure if that's even supposed to happen. When I remove the lenses and switch through the f stops with them removed I can see them changing sizes.
Are they broken...? Why would both of my lenses be broken? I don't think she knows what she is talking about. The lenses are a Spiratone Plura-Coat 1:28 f=28mm and a MD Rokkor 50mm 1:1.7 49mm.
Thank you! I really don't want to have to use my nikon n40.

Waynemel
Tinkerer
Username: Waynemel

Post Number: 16

Posted on Friday, January 21, 2011 - 06:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

First, check the lenses.
You say that the aperture changes size when off of the camera. Put the Aperture at f16 and then operate the little lever on the back of the lens.