Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Electro 35 beyond the Pad of Death Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Electro 35 beyond the Pad of Death « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Josie
Tinkerer
Username: Josie

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, February 07, 2011 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi all - newbie here with a question on the Yashica Electro 35. I inherited this bad boy a couple of years ago and recently tried it out. It always read underexposure and would hold the shutter open as long as the release was pressed. Yashica Guy said these were symptoms of the pad of death, so I took the whole thing apart and replaced it. But that didn't fix it... So I dug a bit deeper, I found that one of the wipers on the selector ring was not making contact. Fixing that - it worked perfectly and I shot a nice roll with it. I let the camera sit for a couple of weeks - and the problem is back! Always shows underexposure and the shutter stays open. I've checked the selector switch and the wiring from it to the board, but there doesn't seem to be any problem. So now I suspect that there is an intermittent problem in the module on the board. Has anyone else seen this? Suggestions please!

Waynemel
Tinkerer
Username: Waynemel

Post Number: 25

Posted on Monday, February 07, 2011 - 11:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Mine started acting up after a while as well. I wonder if the pressure on the POD causes it to compress.