Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Zenit 122, rewind lever problem. Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Zenit 122, rewind lever problem. « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kaqui
Tinkerer
Username: Kaqui

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, May 01, 2011 - 12:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello everyone, first than all, I'm not english native speaker so I may misspell some words or something.
I'm new to camera collecting, in Chile its a bit difficult to find cameras at good prices, and I bought two Zenit 122 cameras at a good price, but one has problems with the rewind lever, its missing, but that's not my problem, because I can replace it with another one in order to make it work.
I was trying to take the screw out, but I pushed it inside the camera and the whole rewind shaft fell inside the film compartment. I had to dismantle all the camera in order to open the film compartment. I took the rewind shaft and tried to put it in the tubular hole where it was, but it doesn't fit. I observed the mechanism and noticed that it doesn't fit because the lock system was connected to the shaft from the inside, I think it was with pressure.
I need to know how to put the shaft back in its place in order to continue repairing it, the camera shutter works and everything, and I would like to use it, but I cant shot if I can't even wind the film into the spool and back to the canister.
Thanks!

Finnegan
Tinkerer
Username: Finnegan

Post Number: 70