Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikon Shutter Replacement Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Nikon Shutter Replacement « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Njp
Tinkerer
Username: Njp

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, September 16, 2011 - 02:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Well, where to start. I'm a high school photography student, and this is my third year. I've been collecting cameras, and have gotten about 40. I've been fairly lucky in picking working cameras, but usually some need a little repair.

So it's easy to say I have a bit of experience in camera repairs. However, most of these repairs are on Rangefinders.

Recently, someone in the photography club at my school came in with a Nikon (not sure of the model, but I know it's a late 90's) with a broken shutter. It looks like someone was playing with it and put a finger through. The top part of the shade was literally ripped out.
We have a camera (same model, just a bit older) that was donated non-functional. I have been in the process of dis-assembling it for my photo teacher, and offered to replace the shutter from the older camera to his camera. The old camera's shutter fires just fine, so I figure I should be able to replace it.

I am having a bit of issue with getting his camera open, and getting the shutter out of the other camera. His camera has some screws I think were just overclocked, but I'm not sure. I'd appreciate any help.