Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

A complete newbie needing help with A... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » A complete newbie needing help with Agfa Isolette ii (I know next to nothing about classic cameras) « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Alphad0g
Tinkerer
Username: Alphad0g

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, February 29, 2012 - 12:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Im completely new to the vintage camera scene, and i'd really love to take it up as a hobby. I'm only 16 so I have absolutely no idea on anything at all, so I also need help with jargon (especially the names of camera parts). I'd really love to get into film photography too

Recently I inherited my grandpa's agfa isolette ii, it's outwards appearance is very good, the camera lens thing pops out fine, indicating the bellows is in good shape. The wheel on the top left (has numbers on it, I'm not sure what it is for) turns ok. However, the silver knob on top of the pop-out lens does not move and I'n scared to apply excessive force to it (the knob I'm talking about is more like a lever, I know that there are 2 of them, the much smaller one moves fine, it's the bigger one closer to the glass lens that is not moving at all).

Also, there is a little knob on the bottom half of the lens, with a red circle on it, that wiggles just the tiniest bit when I press it, but does not move otherwise.

Finally, I've done a little reading up on the agfa isolette ii, and I am happy to say that mine does not have any of that 'green goo' stuff on it (whatever that is).