Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Lens pouch care Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Lens pouch care « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ismaelg
Tinkerer
Username: Ismaelg

Post Number: 85

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, October 26, 2012 - 08:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi,

I recently acquired an older pull string lens pouch in very good condition as part of a "case full of stuff" from a friend. According to him, those things have been in the case in a closet for almost 20 years. I'm not sure if it is leather or synthetic material. Soft liner inside (maybe flannel?) As you can see I'm not very good at materials LOL
I want to use it to protect my best lenses, but it smells like if it's been in storage for decades. It has!
Should I just "Febreeze" the heck out of it?
Any ideas?

Edit: Here is a picture of the stuff. The pouch I'm referring to is to the right: black outside, green inside.

http://images51.fotki.com/v103/photos/1/1233394/5529290/P3205590-vi.jpg

Thanks,
Ismael

Glenn
Tinkerer
Username: Glenn

Post Number: 1053

Posted on Friday, October 26, 2012 - 10:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)