Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Minolta SRT 101 Meter Issues Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Minolta SRT 101 Meter Issues « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kuriskayla
Tinkerer
Username: Kuriskayla

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, November 01, 2012 - 07:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm aware this question has been asked probably 100 times, but I'm a beginner with cameras so I think I'll need more specific instructions.

I ordered a Minolta SRT 101 off Etsy. The exposure needle is stuck in the top corner. The aperture needle (sorry, not sure about the exact name for it, it's the one with the circle on the end) moves just fine.

It seems strange, because the seller indicated to me he shot two rolls of film through the camera two days ago and the meter was working normally. Is it possible that the battery drained out in two days? The switch was turned to "On" while it was in transit, but I assume that wouldn't affect the battery since it was in darkness.

Also, the needle does not move when on battery check.

Lars
Tinkerer
Username: Lars

Post Number: 2

Posted on Thursday, November 01, 2012 - 10:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

If a new battery doesnīt help, and if the needle is still stuck in B.C. mode, You can always try tapping the camera in different directions to try to free the meter needle. If this does not work, You will have to start taking the camera apart. Start with the bottom plate. It is easy to take of, just two skrews. Look for corroded or loose wires.