Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Kodak Signet 35 - My first repair Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Kodak Signet 35 - My first repair « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Clivec
Tinkerer
Username: Clivec

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 11:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

As the title indicates, I am a complete novice to camera repair. I purchased a Kodak Signet 35 because I heard it had a great lens, but mostly because I loved the design.

The camera came to me with a few problems. Hazy viewfinder, a rangefinder misalignment (described below), and the film counter didn't seem to work.

Using http://pheugo.com/cameras/index.php?page=signet35 as a reference, I took the top off and cleaned off the glass surfaces with some rubbing alcohol and now it's no longer hazy (I did not touch the mirrored surface behind the rangefinder hole).

The rangefinder patch, curiously, instead of one triangle (as is normal for the Signet), shows two, mostly superimposed but slightly shifted horizontally on each other. This makes it rather dim to use.

By tracing the light path, I could not discern what would cause one triangle to split into two, though I suspect it's a misalignment.

I tried to calibrate the rangefinder and had some success with the hex nut under the aperture scale. They now seem to correspond with the triangle on the left, but I would need to verify infinity focus during the day.

What could be causing the misaligned triangle patch? What area should I be inspecting?