Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Shutter curtain wont move Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Shutter curtain wont move « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Brienne
Tinkerer
Username: Brienne

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 11:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I just received the used Canon AE-1 I purchased off of ebay.
I am new to the film world and photography in general.
however right off the bat I noticed it has the infamous squeal. (Not my concern though)

The shutter curtain does not open. I opened the back and when I shoot (on all settings, including bulb) the curtain does not budge. In fact on bulb mode It does not open at all and it just shoots at a normal speed. Now maybe I am an idiot and the curtain is not supposed to open? But that seems doubtful to me.

The shutter button itself and other things seem fine.

The light meter is working.

What could this be related to? simple battery fix? (waiting for mine in the mail) or something else perhaps?

Thanks guys!

Dxqcanada
Tinkerer
Username: Dxqcanada

Post Number: 23

Posted on Friday, April 12, 2013 - 04:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

If the curtain is not moving ... how do you hear the squeal ?

Dxqcanada
Tinkerer

Post Number: 24

Posted on Friday, April 12, 2013 - 04:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

If the battery is dead it will not release the shutter.

Rick_oleson
Tinkerer
Username: Rick_oleson