Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikon d5 shutter sensor repair Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Nikon d5 shutter sensor repair « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Oatsybob
Tinkerer
Username: Oatsybob

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, April 30, 2013 - 07:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, this is my first post. I'm not an expert on these things, but I love to tinker with electronics. I recently bought a Nikon d5 from Craigslist that the owner said had a broken "shutter sensor". I've heard of a shutter and a sensor, but never a shutter sensor. The camera turned on (before I took it apart anyway) but the shutter didn't fire. Something rattles around when I shake the camera. I've isolated the noise to the general area of the shutter. I guess my question is: is there such thing as a shutter sensor, and if so how can I fix it?

Oatsybob
Tinkerer
Username: Oatsybob

Post Number: 2

Posted on Tuesday, April 30, 2013 - 07:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

oops didn't realize this is a film camera repair forum. MY BAD

Br1078lum
Tinkerer
Username: Br1078lum

Post Number: 544

Posted on Wednesday, May 01, 2013 - 07:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

We won't hold that against you, Bob.