Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Canon FD rear reassembly? Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Canon FD rear reassembly? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Odl
Tinkerer
Username: Odl

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, January 01, 2009 - 06:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello all!

I'm fairly new to servicing lenses. My uncle gave me an assortment of lenses that he had in storage for about 15 years... but unfortunately a lot of them have some fungal growth...mostly on just the rear elements.

I'm having trouble getting the rear end aligned back up in the reassembly. I need the ring with the arm that goes into the fork to rotate counter clockwise so the rear can sit back in. Here's a picture to help (I'm sorry, but i'm not sure on the terminology...diaphragm-cam ring??).

I searched this site for about 2 hours and couldn't find an answer... but that ring rotates clock wise freely. But it gets stuck at a point going counter clockwise. Can anyone provide any insight on how to get it back to where it originally was??

Thanks for your help!

lens

Rick_oleson
Tinkerer
Username: Rick_oleson

Post Number: 760

Posted on Thursday, January 01, 2009 - 07:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have some notes ... not sure if they'll help but you're welcome to them. email me at rick_oleson@yahoo.com

Odl
Tinkerer
Username: Odl

Post Number: 2