Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Centon DF-300 (Minolta x-370) meter k... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Centon DF-300 (Minolta x-370) meter kaput? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Adrian
Tinkerer
Username: Adrian

Post Number: 224

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, February 22, 2009 - 05:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I've just borrowed the mother-in-law's (no jokes!) camera - being an ecologist by trade, she has a very nice macro lens, and now that spring flowers are appearing... It's a Centon DF-300, a Minolta x-370 licence-built in China.

Unfortunately I think the meter has gone belly up, but I thought I'd check here in case anyone has a solution, or if there are any "gotchas" that might produce the same effect. In short, according to the instructions, in Auto mode there's a little red LED in the viewfinder that points upward and flashes to indicate over-exposure (paired with another pointing down for under-exposure). In manual, the speed set will flash and you should get a steady bar showing the meter reading. That's not lighting at all, whilst in auto the LED blinks whatever the light and aperture setting shutter just trips at what sounds like 1/1000 all the time.

I've tried new batteries (fresh from the pack), I've cleaned the contacts, removed and re-mounted the lens, with and without film - everything I can think of - with no joy.

Has anyone any bright ideas, or is it out with the hand-held lightmeter?

Adrian

Msiegel
Tinkerer
Username: Msiegel

Post Number: 83