Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Getting it to focus : Infinity Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Getting it to focus : Infinity « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Fuzzyeyeballs
Tinkerer
Username: Fuzzyeyeballs

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, April 28, 2009 - 08:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello everyone. I'm pretty new here and hope someone can help shed some light on this problem I have.

I ain't good with camera repairs ... I'm just a hobbyist with itchy fingers. What I did was took the lens from a camera and 'planted' it into another camera. Then came the problem. Both the cameras were focus-free, so I assume they should focus at infinity.

After 'planting' the lens on the camera, I could not get it to focus properly. Btw, both are compact cameras with no zoom or AF.

The first roll I did for a test ... all the photos were blurred. Focus was off.

Then I extended the distance from the lens to the film a little bit and I got much better focus.

From the 2nd test roll, I realise closer subjects (see 2nd photo below) seems better focused.

Since the camera has no bulb mode, I can use some of those guides online to test infinity focus.

Can anyone help provide some help? If closer subjects seem more focused, is the lens too close or too far from the film?

Thank you in advance.

Paul_ron
Tinkerer
Username: Paul_ron

Post Number: 147

Posted on Tuesday, April 28, 2009 - 05:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Which camera are you using?

Glenn
Tinkerer
Username: Glenn

Post Number: 561