Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Rank Mamiya 4B Shutter Problem Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Rank Mamiya 4B Shutter Problem « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Mredphoto
Tinkerer
Username: Mredphoto

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, May 12, 2009 - 09:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello, complete and utter camera Noob here.

I recently purchased a Rank Mamiya 4B 35mm rangefinder (1963 model) for the princely sum of £15 sterling including a leather case and its in really good condition both cosmetically and optically, and the meter reads fine and seems acurate enough when compared to my DSLR. so all is sounding ok except for one slightly fundamental problem....

The shutter doesnt open, no matter what setting i put it on and no matter how many times i trigger it. It refuses to open.

Now the aperture/ISO/focusing rings are all smooth as you like, the shutter ring is a bit sticky though. Each stop has a click but between 4, 8 and 15 sec it sounds like its clock work, or turning something clockwork. When you turn it to the bulb setting it clicks round satisfyingly. But no leaf opening, it obstinately stays in the shut position.

The film advances well etc etc.

I have worked out how to get the bottom off and the top and have cleaned everything i can reach with lighter fluid and a microfibre cleaning cloth and things seem a little smoother, including the shutter speed ring.

Now my question to you is how do i get to the actual shutter mechanism? i guess dribbling lighter fluid in isnt going to help much.