Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikon FM10 advance knob is stuck Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Nikon FM10 advance knob is stuck « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Mindcircus
Tinkerer
Username: Mindcircus

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, July 13, 2009 - 02:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello, it's my first time posting here. I have a Nikon FM10 and the advance knob is stuck. I know it's one of the cheap models of Nikon but I would like to give it life again... Any ideas where to start from?

Bossman
Tinkerer
Username: Bossman

Post Number: 90

Posted on Monday, July 13, 2009 - 08:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

It's been a while since I serviced an FM10 so I could have some details wrong but here goes: if the FM10 has a setting on the speed dial for manually releasing the shutter, turn it to that setting and see if shutter releases. Also make sure your batteries are strong enough to fire the shutter......one other thing, remove the bottom plate and see if you can manually release the advance so you can advance it and possibly re-cycle the operation. Hope this will help.

Ethostech
Tinkerer
Username: Ethostech

Post Number: 123

Posted on Monday, August 17, 2009 - 06:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)