Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Yashica GSN Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Yashica GSN « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Harlee
Tinkerer
Username: Harlee

Post Number: 89

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, November 08, 2009 - 05:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I've been shooting these Yashicas since 1970 when we lived in Okinawa, and for the past several years have fixed & refurbished them and sold a number of them in Ebay. I recently picked up one in really nice condition but DOA. I've resoldered the white lead to the battery chamber and now the diods light up, BUT, something is amiss that I haven't run into previously. Without the battery, it'll fire at the default shutter speed, but with the battery installed, the shutter opens and stays open until I wind the film winder. Changing the F stops doesn't make any difference. Is this a mechanical problem or an electrical problem? I've noticed that the shutter button travels the entire length but at the end of its travel, I have to exert a little more pressure before the shutter opens. That's why I'm wondering if one of the shutter rods needs to be shortened or lengthened. Would appreciate any info that would help me locate the problem.

Harlee
Tinkerer

Post Number: 90

Posted on Sunday, November 08, 2009 - 05:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Oh yes, I've noticed that the POD looks to have been replaced with a white plastic pad, but it looks as though the pad is a little thick. Could this be the culprit?

Nickon51
Tinkerer
Username: Nickon51