Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Advices for a newbie Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Restoration » Advices for a newbie « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Nico
Tinkerer
Username: Nico

Post Number: 8

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, July 27, 2010 - 09:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm new in the art of restoring...
Trying to make a canon Demi S look shiny and usable.
I need some orientation on the materials needed.

1º The rough black chorme parts, the top and the bottom covers are very unpainted and rusty (the green kind of rust). Which kind of paint do you recommend to paint them after cleaning?

2º The transparent plastic that covers the meter is really foggy, tried the toothpaste tip for a few minutes but... still the same

3º Well the lens... I know, I know, "put a roll and test it". But i wanna know how bad is it. It is not dirt, and pretty sure it is not fungus either, I've soaked the elements on vinegar for a couple of minutes and nothing, think those are scratches like a mass of tiny pits.
These are the front and the rear lenses respectively:

Should I toss it in the garbage? (It feels horrible just the sound of it...)

Nico
Tinkerer

Post Number: 9

Posted on Wednesday, July 28, 2010 - 08:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

By the way, just today I've read some Rick Oleson's post regarding oxide on some lenses, that could be removed by a soft polishing agent. Can those tiny spots be oxide and not scratches? What would be worse, remove the coating that way or leave it as it is?

Waynemel
Tinkerer