Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

1904 Kodak No. 2 Folding Brownie model A Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Restoration » 1904 Kodak No. 2 Folding Brownie model A « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Tinkerer
Username: 120

Post Number: 3

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, May 13, 2011 - 08:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi everyone, I am planning to restore a no. 2 folding brownie camera, but I'm not too sure where to start. I have no experience with camera restorations, I have been doing some research, but there seems to be very little about the camera's construction. The condition of the camera are as follows:

*Lens board is broken at the bottom where it attaches to the focusing slide.
*Shutter a little sticky but operational.
*Leatherette is worn on the corners.
*Lens needs a clean.
*Red window needs placing.
*One of the film rollers is stuck and will not turn.
*General clean of the camera body is required.

Any tips and advice will be very much appreciated. The following link shows a restored version: http://taotothetruth.blogspot.com/2011/01/i-for-instantaneous.html

Connealy
Tinkerer
Username: Connealy

Post Number: 37

Posted on Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 09:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Restoring the old wood bodied Kodaks calls for carpentry and upholstery skills more than mechanical ones.