Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Newbie with an old Minolta and teleph... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Collector's Lounge » Newbie with an old Minolta and telephoto ques « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Losaramic
Tinkerer
Username: Losaramic

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, December 09, 2009 - 10:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, I'm new to this forum, and in a way I'm new to taking my camera seriously. I've had cameras in my hands since I was 10 years old, but I have to admit I've had a telephoto lens for over 10 years that I never learned to use. My camera is a Minolta XG-1 which was bought for my 18th birthday, and its had a lot of basic use. The telephoto is a Minolta 100-300 / 5.6. I only attempted to use it several times in the past, without having a clue what sort of support it needed, so you can imagine the results. Now I'm finally interested in taking my photography much more seriously but my attempts to find a support for the telephoto lens online have only turned up one ad: for a Manfrotto. Surely Minolta must have sold supports for their telephotos lenses. I know this may be a dumb newbie question, but if I buy a support for another brand, will there be incompabability problems, or are they all pretty much the same?

Tom_cheshire
Tinkerer
Username: Tom_cheshire

Post Number: 214

Posted on Wednesday, December 09, 2009 - 03:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)