Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Hi I am new Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Collector's Lounge » Hi I am new « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Lemon
Tinkerer
Username: Lemon

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, April 03, 2011 - 07:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi all. This is Lemon from Australia.

I am an amateur of box camera. Recently I saw some lovely vintage box cameras in a second-hand market so would like to buy one or maybe two, get it fixed, and shoot some photos with it.

It will be great if I could learn how to identify if a vintage box camera is in good condition (at least it can be fixed) or not. In the second-hand market I picked up a vintage box camera and checked. It was something look like a Brownie No2 Model E.

The viewfinders are quick clear but got some dust/ dark spot around the edge of glass. The shutter and controller sounds fine (At least I could see the shutter shuts when I pressed the button.). The lens looks a little bit blur and got some scratch on it. The light leaking problem should be fixed easily if there is any, so I am not worry about it. But for the rest... I am not sure.

Could somebody teach me how to check a vintage box camera? Or is there any information on Internet that I could learn? Thank you so much for your time.

Chiccolini
Tinkerer
Username: Chiccolini

Post Number: 124

Posted on Monday, April 25, 2011 - 11:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)