Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

An old man's lament Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Collector's Lounge » An old man's lament « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Edward8
Tinkerer
Username: Edward8

Post Number: 56

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, April 11, 2011 - 08:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Please excuse this if it comes across as self-indulgent, but here goes ...

I've been a photographer for as long as I can remember. In the mid-1960s, I went professional, on a broadsheet newspaper, then tabloids, then studios, weddings, now I specialize in archaeological and architectural archival photography, for my sins. That's a lot of film. And cameras.

My work is now all digital. Film is, sadly, redundant in my line of work.

Which brings me to my lament: I have around eight working film cameras, mostly Nikon, which sit neglected, gathering dust. I have done the obvious, like removing all batteries and, when it's sunny and calm, a good work-out. Mechanical cameras like work. They turn grumpy when ignored.

Although I have no wish whatever to sell the cameras, I checked with my photographic dealer of around 20+ years. Alan said, all up, about $AUD300-400. Before digital, one of those cameras alone would have raised that amount as a trade-in.

To flog 'em off as a job lot for that price is not nice; it's akin to putting down the faithful family dog.

This is NOT a for-sale ad. It's a philosophical question to people on this site who enjoy the inner workings of these mechanical marvels.

So. What do I do? Do I put them into a suitable container and take them to the vet? Or do I continue to wallow in nostalgia and care for them?