Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Funny anecdote about an old camera an... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Collector's Lounge » Funny anecdote about an old camera and smoke « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ismaelg
Tinkerer
Username: Ismaelg

Post Number: 81

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, September 30, 2012 - 03:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello,

Just a funny anecdote from today.
I'm an electrical engineer and for years I was a technical trainer for an electronics company. I was always joking and saying "All electronics components are made out of smoke. You just don't let it out. If the smoke goes out you won't be able to get it back in"
Well, today I was curious about a Minolta Maxxum 5000 I got a while ago. This is a first generation autofocus camera so not exactly vintage in the context of this forum, but quite old by today's standards. The camera seemed to have been in storage for years. Some minor corrosion in the battery contacts. Minor disassembly, cleaned it and put fresh batteries.
So far so good.
Turned it on and it did turn on!
So far so good.
Snapped a picture, it worked!
So far so good
There was a roll inside, who knows since when.
Rewounded it and it works!
So far... so good!

Then.... (drumroll please) the dreaded smell of burn electronics and...
You guessed it: heavy smoke coming out of the camera!
I did some disassembly but having no schematics and no idea, closed it again. So this one will go in the "Show but no go" shelf.
:-)
Just wanted to share with you.

Thanks,
Ismael

Brianshaw
Tinkerer
Username: Brianshaw

Post Number: 147