Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

"Made in Ryukyu" Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Collector's Lounge » "Made in Ryukyu" « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Subajogu
Tinkerer
Username: Subajogu

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, June 24, 2013 - 02:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello, I am a long time resident of Okinawa, who works for the US military. I have recently been bitten by the film photography bug and heard about a couple cameras, the New Pax and the Petri 7, (or at least a version of the Petri 7) that were made in Okinawa during the 1960's. I understand that both are extremely rare but I was able to find a classic camera store in Naha City that had one of each on display. The New Pax had "Made in Okinawa" stamped on the back of it and the Petri 7 had "Made in Ryukyu" engraved on the bottom of the body. Of course, neither camera was for sale. Too bad for me but I'm wondering if anyone in this community knows anything about the New Pax camera or if anyone even has one? This camera has peaked my interest because it was made locally and was sold to US military personnel. Please see the following link for an article in a local newspaper on the "Phantom Camera." Thanks

http://english.ryukyushimpo.jp/2011/06/08/1079/

Finnegan
Tinkerer
Username: Finnegan

Post Number: 276

Posted on Monday, June 24, 2013 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have an old transistor radio made in Ryukyu.