Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Canon AE-1 Program problems Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Canon AE-1 Program problems « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ryan Morgan

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, January 10, 2006 - 08:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, im pretty new to slr's so go sorta easy on me. Ive got a Canon AE-1 Program and right when i advance the film, it takes the next picture. Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be? Thanks for the help in advance.

kevin

Posted on Tuesday, January 10, 2006 - 11:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Your problem is a common one. It is likely that the camera has a dirty / no-op magnet. It usually is the one on the bottom but both shutter magnets should be cleaned.

Ryan Morgan

Posted on Tuesday, January 10, 2006 - 07:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Is there any way I could do this myself or some way I could get this fixed cheaply? I love this camera to death, but dont have much money at the time.

Glenn Middleton

Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 11:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Search the archive for strip down help/information and download the repair manual from www.canonfd.com/choose.htm

The archive will tell you how to remove the covers from the magnetic 'switches' and the manual will help you identify them.