Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Newbie needs direction Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Newbie needs direction « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Steve Holt

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, January 22, 2006 - 03:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello all,
Hope someone can help with this. I have been collecting old cameras for a while and now want to start learning about camera repair. I am fairly confident that I can be self taught but need a few pointers! My first test case for the learning process is an Ilford Sportsman Rangefinder (Type 4), because it's cheap to replace (in fact I already have for 99p!) and not much of an upset if it goes wrong. Does anyone know of any freely available schematics / repair docs that I can use for guidance?

Thanks in advance guys

Steve

Glenn Middleton

Posted on Sunday, January 22, 2006 - 06:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Whilst I have every confidence that you will succeed on the Sportsman, I do not think you will find many documents etc.

My advice would be to look at the repair articles available in the Favorite Classics section or search for good descriptive repair sites - a number have been mentioned on this Forum and I am sure that somebody will give the addresses without you having to search. Then purchase the type of camera that is described there-in.