Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Canon FTb cleaning the viefinder eyep... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Canon FTb cleaning the viefinder eyepiece « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Marcin M.

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, February 01, 2006 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

In the beginning excuse my English - I'm not a native speaker.

I’ve recently bought a Canon FTb camera and I need to clean its viewfinder eyepiece it is the only part of it that need cleaning so I decided to do it on my own. The problem is how to get there? I have no experience with Canon’s cameras.

Glenn Middleton

Posted on Wednesday, February 01, 2006 - 04:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The top plate on the FTb is quite easy to remove, but you will need a pin wrench to remove the pin face retaining screws on the advance lever and the shutter speed dial and a good fitting + point screwdriver. You can make a substitute pin wrench from a pair of engineers or draftsman's dividers or if you can buy 1mm drill bits, from a piece of hard wood and two drill bits. Just measure the distance between the holes and drill two 1mm holes in the wood at that center dimension - 10mm for the advance lever screw, if memory serves me right. Then push the drill shanks into the holes ie you want the smooth part of the drill to fit into the holes in the screw top. Both screws undo anticlockwise.

Make sure shutter is in uncocked/released state.