Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Yashica electro 35 Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Yashica electro 35 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

David

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, February 05, 2006 - 12:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have just purchased an old electro 35 off ebay, it appears to be in very good condition,all the functions appear to be working all though I have not yet tried it with a battery,one thing it does not do is open the shutter when i test it, does it need a battery to do this or could there be a problem, also is it within a beginners skill set to clean the rangefinder glass.I'm new to the older camera's so appoligies for being so uninformed on the matter. Thanks in advance for any help. David

Ben

Posted on Sunday, February 05, 2006 - 06:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The shutter should open for 1/500 of a second with no battery. I have encountered ones, though, that would not open at all. In those cases, I passed on buying, although I know that this isn't an option in your case.

Are you sure that the shutter isn't opening? Open the aperture up to 1.7, open the camera back, hold it up to a bright light, and fire the shutter. With leaf shutters like the one in the Yashica, I've found this to be the only reliable way to tell whether the shutter is opening or not.