Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Spiraltone 135 lens/nikon mount Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Spiraltone 135 lens/nikon mount « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

john murphy

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2006 - 05:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have a spiraltone 135 mm lens with nikon mount that was loose between the mount ring and lens body,tighned up the three set type screws but noticed the pointed end of one was broken,any ideas where to get a replacement?i am new to this hobby.also i have a question on the operation of this lens.the aperture ring is at the lens opening end and is aluminum and works but there is a second ring marked with aperture settings that does not control the aperture and moves independently of the other ring,does not appear to do any thing i am guessing that this was used with some kind of adapter lens that screwed onto the front of the lense.any help in the proper operation of this vintage lens would be of help.am planning on using it on a nikon fm since it is a manual set camera anyway.thanks

Glenn middleton

Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2006 - 06:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

This a preset manual lens. The second ring allows you to preset the aperture to the exposure meter value. You then focus with the lens fully open and then just turn the aperture ring proper to close down the lens to preset value. You do not need to take camera from the eye to set the correct value.