Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikon FM2 + Vivitar 28-105 f2.8-3.8 i... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Nikon FM2 + Vivitar 28-105 f2.8-3.8 infinity focus problem « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Vladimir

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, February 18, 2006 - 06:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

My name is Vladimir and I am from Bulgaria. I am new to photography, just bought a Nikon FM2 and Vivitar 28-105mm f2.8-3.8 camera set from ebay, but it seems that I can not focus to infinity, my split view finder always shows disalignment. Especially at 105mm. Any help?
I shot one roll of film but I am traveling now and I can not check the quality of the pictures, will develop the films in a month. Is the problem in the camera or in the lens?
I just do not have an other lens to check:(
With the CPL filter on the lens though the focus seems to be fine.
Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Glenn Middleton

Posted on Saturday, February 18, 2006 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Find a friendly draughtsman or architect and beg or steal a small piece of the draughting film they draw the plans on, prior to printing out/duplication. A small piece held across the film gate will act as a piece of frosted glass or focus screen. Test in bright light and focus on the paper screen first, then check the actual image on the split image screen. You can use ordinary tracing paper as a last resort.