Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Stiff focussing on a Nikkor 135mm f2.... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Stiff focussing on a Nikkor 135mm f2.8 AI - beginner needs help « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Glombick

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, February 26, 2006 - 02:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, I bought a lens off ebay and while most of my experiences have been positive, this one turned out to be less than advertised. I should have sent it back, but decided to keep it because it is nice cosmetically.

The focussing is smooth, but has a fair amount of resistence. I have no experience fixing lenses or cameras. Is this something I can fix myself or should I get it done professionally? Also, if I get it done by someone else, what would it cost? I have to make a decision whether the price justifies keeping the lens versus selling it.

Thank you

PG

P Laskey

Posted on Monday, February 27, 2006 - 07:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I would guess the grease in the helical has dried out or stiffened. Rectifying this would involve stripping the focus mount. If it works okay it's better to leave it as it is.
PL

Stuart Willis

Posted on Monday, February 27, 2006 - 05:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)