Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Battery Praktica LTL and Super TL Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Battery Praktica LTL and Super TL « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Marc

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, March 02, 2006 - 03:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello,
I'm just beginning a collection of old reflexs and baught a Praktica LTL and a Super TL. I want to use them but can't find if I can simply put a 1.5V battery as in my Spotmatic, or if it'll destroy anything. Anyone can help me???
Thanks

Stephen Brian

Posted on Friday, March 03, 2006 - 04:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Marc

A common problem for the Praktica user. However it seems that the Praktica light meter circuits are based on the "bridge" circuit principle which compares the voltages across two sides of a circuit and therefore the actual voltage of the cell shouldn't matter too much.

The Praktica LTL should be perfectly happy with a 625 cell. These are now rated at 1.5 V rather than the mercury cell at 1.35V. I know that my MTL3s are fine with the standard 625 cells that cost about £5 in UK camera stores.

I don't know about the Super TL, I think they also used a 625 cell.

You could alternatively buy the much more expensive "Wien cell" (or is it Wein cell?)which is a zinc - air cell but operates at 1.35V, these are much more expensive at about £10 and aslo have a short shelf life once activated.