Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Kodak Medalist 120 Conversion Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Kodak Medalist 120 Conversion « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Grant Weir

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, March 14, 2006 - 11:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello,

I have a Kodak Medalist II that I would like to convert from 620 film to 120. I have browsed the internet and fould little info on this subject other than where I can get it done. "They" say Ken Ruth of Photography on Bald Mountain or maybe Essex Camera of NJ can do it, but the cost is high and the wait is long.

I am a machinist by trade and have a pretty good idea of how I would do it, but would like to hear from others who have done it, or have had it done. There MUST be someone out there with the kahunas to give this a try.

Grant Weir
Saskatoon, SK
Canada

Glenn Middleton

Posted on Tuesday, March 14, 2006 - 01:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

For non Kodak cameras; the best way is to remove the wind knob and remake the drive key on the wind shaft to fit 120 spools, also increase diameter of locating pin in other chamber - glue a bit of tube over the pin.

In Kodak cameras the dimensions of the film chambers are so tight that the slightly taller 120 spools will not fit in. Hence costly re-machining of the chamber. It is suggested that this small increase in size was a way that Kodak protected its US patents, but could also sell 120 film all over the World.