Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Yashica TL-Super repair questions Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2006 » Yashica TL-Super repair questions « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Squeek

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, July 06, 2006 - 10:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm a novice, so forgive me for any stupid questions. My girlfriend used to be in love with this camera years ago, and I want to fix it for her birthday later this month. She is registered for a photography degree program in the fall, and is finally going to do what she loves.

There seems to be two problems, as far as I can tell:
1.) The viewfinder mirror is in the upper position, as it would be during a snap. The glue has also come undone.
2.) It seems that the film advance lever doesn't pull all the way back. Is that just because there's no film in the camera? The indicator next to the lever reads S, if that helps at all.

Thank you all so much for any advice you can offer.

jon goodman

Posted on Thursday, July 06, 2006 - 07:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, Squeek...
(1) on the left side of the camera (facing the lens) there is a lever sort of near the top (not the self-timer...this lever is up near the lens). Flip it down, and the mirror should return to its normal place. The glue has come undone? Which glue? I'm lost with that one.

(2) the film advance lever doesn't pull all the way back? You've lost me there, too. This camera does not require film to be loaded in order to work. Is the winding lever loose or what?
Jon

Squeek