Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Unsticking Konica Auto S2 aperture Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Unsticking Konica Auto S2 aperture « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

CJ

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, January 19, 2005 - 08:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello All,

I'm new to tinkering with classic cameras, and I have a Konica Auto S2 that has a sluggish timer and an aperture that appears to be stuck at f/16.

I've read the excellent page, (Kar Yan Mak's S1.6 Repair Adventure) but I'm not clear on how to go in through the front of the lens to clean the aperture leaves. Can anybody offer any advice? At the top of Kar Yan's S1.6 page, there a picture of the camera with what appers to be the front lens element taken out...but I can't figure out how this was done--the bezel that reads "Konica...Hexanon...etc." is still in place.

Also, please clarify: What does 'right handed', 'left handed' screw mount mean? Does 'right handed' mean that to UNscrew something, it involves a left-handed turn?

Thanks,

-CJ

M Currie

Posted on Thursday, January 20, 2005 - 07:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Ordinary screws are right-handed, meaning that as you face the screw's head, you screw clockwise to tighten, couterclockwise to loosen. A left-handed screw is the reverse of this, so to UNscrew it you would go clockwise.

rick oleson

Posted on Thursday, January 20, 2005 - 07:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)