Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Minolta XG1 shutter and film rewind Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Minolta XG1 shutter and film rewind « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Katherine

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2005 - 07:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi--
i'm a freshman at college, taking a photography course, and my camera is a hand-me-down from my grandfather. it's a Minolta XG1, though i'm unsure of the exact year. (as i understand it, this model was available from 79 to 81?) i'm having two rather persistent problems with it.

1) at times, the shutter won't go off. at first i attributed it to the cold weather, but it happens indoors as well as out. i wish i could provide more specifics than this, but i'm extremely new to photography, especially the mechanical aspects involved. i've cleaned the battery contacts with rubbing alcohol, but that hasn't helped at all.

2) there's some kind of trouble rewinding the film--there's some initial resistance when i rewind it, and it really feels like something's stuck somewhere. it invariably ends up that there are 4 or 5 exposures left in the canister, while the rest of the film is ripped off.

one of my friends has this camera and has had the same problems. the camera repair guy she showed it to said it was an electrical problem and that he couldn't fix it, but after that she said it started working fine.

has anyone else here had this problem? is there anything i can do to fix it? do i need to take it to a professional, and if so, how much would that cost?