Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Dented top Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Dented top « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Eric

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Tuesday, February 22, 2005 - 02:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The top plate of my Nikon FE, above the penteprism housing is dented. Somebody said that, provided I remove the top okay, it would not be difficult to iron out. I have never done this before and removing the lever and nobs off the top so that I can iron out the metal, fills me with a little dread. Will springs and things shoot out if I do this or will the mechanism stay intact? Any help from seasoned repairers would be helpful. I have no repair manuel but I do have a very basic schematics sheet.

rick

Posted on Tuesday, February 22, 2005 - 09:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

unless the damage is completely hidden under the leather, especially if this is a chrome body, you will never iron out the damage to the point where it will not look like a hammered-out dent; and personally, I prefer the look of an honest dent to that. I think I only have disassembly notes for the FM and FM2, but I suppose the FE would be pretty similar; I don't think there are any heart stopping surprises in it.

Haig Hovaness

Posted on Thursday, February 24, 2005 - 07:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)